New Life for New Year, written January 2011

(I wrote this a year ago as I was visiting my daughter, Andrea Mungo in NYC. It’s a good way to start sharing my life on this newly created blog, set up by my son, Peter Clark.)

I lie in this inner room

as Mungo guest, Mom and grandmom

day after Christmas

Christ is born

yesterday morn.

Some how this year

deeper meaning is here

in my heart

new life is near.

New Life means energy

to live in new ways

to see with new eyes

how to live in these days.

Relationships can deepen

money more wisely spent

appreciation for  living

on this planet to us lent.

Yes, the Earth to us is given

for the life spans we are living

to honor God in Heaven.

Heaven is all around us

like bread that’s full of leaven.

Jesus’ life can be that leaven

opening doors to a new heaven.

The Word made flesh among us

unbelievable that story is.

Faith we choose and live in glory.

That faith means new life of energy.

letting go the old lethargy.

The Jesus born in lowly stable

grew into a man so able.

Spoke God’s teachings

changed some lives

told of love and sacrifice.

Let himself be hung on cross

and died a death of sacrifice.

Then new life came in those days

released his followers to live new ways

through forgiveness, empowerment and hope.

All began in the stable that night

a babe that brought new light.

by Jean Barker, January 2011